Snapchat's recent update ....

We are always concerned about ensuring the safety of our pupils online in and outside of school.
We have been informed that Snapchat have released an update  that will affect all users.  The update means that Snapchat now includes a map which can be zoomed in, revealing the locations of users in accurate detail.  These users don’t even need to be your friends for them to see your last location, it seems that all users have access to see everyone.  In order to disable this feature you should go to your settings and enable “Ghost Mode”. You will also need to change your Avatar to “Ghost Mode”.  To access the map you need to “pinch the screen” and this will give you the option to set yourself to private, not public.
It is our advice that all users of Snapchat do this as soon as possible to maintain their online security.